Filed under: 2020 Runoffs

Senators Kelly Loeffler, David Perdue have both conceded


The memo:

  • U.S. Senators Kelly Loeffler and David Perdue have both conceded.
  • Raphael Warnock and Jon Ossoff will be sworn into office, giving Democrats the Senate majority come January 20.

U.S. Senators Kelly Loeffler (R-GA) and David Perdue (R-GA) have both conceded to their respective Democratic opponents, Raphael Warnock and Jon Ossoff.

As of Friday at 4:00 p.m. EST, Warnock led Loeffler 50.9% to 49.1%, and Ossoff outpaced Perdue by 50.5% to 49.5%.

Loeffler released a video statement on Thursday. She will serve in the Senate until the results are certified.

Perdue conceded in a written statement on Friday afternoon. His term ended on January 3, leaving the seat vacant until the runoff results are certified and Ossoff can be sworn in.

“Bonnie and I are deeply grateful for the support millions of Georgians have shown us this year and in the six years since we first ran for the United States Senate,” stated Perdue. “Serving our home state has been the honor of a lifetime, and I am very proud of how our team in Georgia and Washington, D.C. fought every day to deliver real results for all eleven million Georgians.”

“Although we won the general election, we came up just short of Georgia’s 50% rule, and now I want to congratulate the Democratic Party and my opponent for this runoff win. Bonnie and I will continue to pray for our wonderful state and our great country. May God continue to bless Georgia and the United States of America,” the Republican concluded.

Sean Ross is the editor-in-chief of The Georgia Memo and Yellowhammer News. You can reach him via email at